Common types of sex crimes in New Jersey:
- Sexual assault
- Criminal sexual contact
- Statutory rape and rape
- Luring, solicitation, and enticing
- Prostitution and promoting prostitution
- Indecent exposure
What are the sex crime laws in New Jersey?
Each sexual crime has a different kind of law in New Jersey. The first sexual crime is sexual assault. Under the law, an individual can be proven guilty of asexual assault if he commits any act of sexual penetration with another person adult or underage. The sexual assault with a minor under 18 can be termed as aggravated sexual assault.
Lewdness, which is any act that is termed low, or unacceptable to society, it is considered a minor crime in New Jersey. Under the law it is a disorderly person’s offense, but certain classifications if met can take up this crime to a 4th degree crime rating.
Under the law, an act of criminal sexual contact is when a person commits with another person an act of sexual contact, subject to certain circumstances that are prohibited. Unlike sexual assault, this act does not require sexual penetration, and therefore is classified as a third degree crime.
Under the law of New Jersey “NJSA 2C 34-1”, prostitution is defined as an act of sexual nature or a sexual activity that is done in return for some economic value or in offer of an acceptance of something that has an economic value. For these purposes, sexual activity can be defined as an act including but not limited to sexual intercourse.
According to the law of New Jersey, rape and statutory rape are governed by the aggravated sexual assault statute. A rape is when you sexually assault a person without the person’s knowledge or consent, rape that is done on a minor (under the legal age of consent which is 16) is considered a statutory rape.
What are the penalties of sex crimes in New Jersey?
Lewdness or other such sexual offenses that can be categorized as a disorderly person’s offenses carry a jail sentence of up to 6 months and the fines ordered can reach up to $1000. If certain circumstances are met, the penalty can go up to $10,000 and carry a potential sentence of 18 months.
Sexual assault which includes rape and other such charges is a crime of second degree and has a potential criminal sentence of 10 years, and if convicted, the person needs to at the very least serve 5 years before becoming available for parole. An aggravated sexual assault on the other hand is considered a first degree case and can carry a sentence of up to 20 years. The parole guideline is the same as sexual assault. Call Castronovo & McKinney now at 973-920-7888 to get immediate help or by filling out our confidential case evaluation form.
Call to speak with one of our NJ sex crime lawyers at Castronovo & McKinney for a free consultation or a second opinion regarding your sex crime charges. We can be reached at 973-920-7888 or by filling out our confidential case evaluation form.