You have been pulled over and charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI). You are unsure what the best course of action is. What should you do next? A DWI charge can affect many different aspects and parts of your life. There are obvious penalties such as losing your driving privileges, going to jail, facing fines, etc.
Those are anticipated, but what about the effects of those penalties? Imagine that you were sentenced to jail time – what would become of you or your family? Would you be able to support yourself or your family? Serving jail time or even being unable to drive can put your career or employment in jeopardy, which in turn can cause hardship to you as an individual or your family. It is important to understand all types of consequences to come from a DWI charge.
The penalties for a DWI conviction in New Jersey depend on previous DWI charges. If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, you could face the following penalties:
- Receive a fine ranging from $200 to $1000
- Attend an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) for 12 to 48 hours at the cost of $100
- A possible jail term up to 180 days
- Loss of driving privileges in New Jersey for 2-10 years
- A required ignition interlock device for 1 to 3 years after the suspension
Fortunately, our New Jersey DWI lawyers can be your lifeline. The lawyers at Castronovo & McKinney LLC can help you through this process by guiding you through your arraignment and trial. A personalized defense will be crafted in order by our New Jersey DWI lawyers to help you avoid the many and far-reaching consequences of a DWI charge.